Web Content Display Web Content Display

Overview of the Department

The Urban Development Department was created on the 9th of June 2002 after amalgamating the erstwhile departments of Municipal Administration and Town & Country Planning.

There are four wings under this department- Directorate of Municipal Administration, Directorate of Town & Country Planning, Assam Urban Water & Sewerage Board and Assam State Housing Board. These departments look after the affairs of urban local bodies of the state other than Guwahati Municipal Corporation.

The main function of the department is coordination between the urban local bodies of the state and discharging the statutory responsibilities under the provisions of the Assam Municipal Act 1956.

The other functions include administering the provisions of the Assam Town & Country Planning Act 1958 by way of publishing the Master Plan of each and every urban area of the state.

Schemes for development of the urban local bodies are sanctioned by the department, sponsored to Government of India wherever necessary.

Organisational Structure

Urban Development Department

Assam Water Supply & Sewerage Board Assam State Warehousing Board Directorate of Town & Country Planning Directorate of Municipal Administration